Running Tips

One of my best friends just sent me an e-mail asking me if I had any tips about running for her because she was inspired when we went for a run together over spring break. I realized tips for people that don’t really have a lot of people in their life who run would probably be really helpful. I’m lucky enough to have quite a bit of people who run and could help me through it. All of these tips are just ones that I’ve come up with that happened to work for me so its not for everyone and I am definitely no expert.

1. Set a goal. Before you go out have an idea of what you are going to do and stick to it. Tell yourself ok I am going to run to the end of the street and back without stopping. They don’t have to be big goals that will be to difficult to accomplish if you are just starting out, they can be as simple as you need them to be just make sure you accomplish it.

2. Have a buddy. Having a buddy for anything in life is always a good rule. My mom always tells me to have a buddy if I am going out or anything, so in general it is a good rule. A buddy will help keep you accountable and make you be consistent. There will be days where you just really don’t feel like running, but knowing there is a person who is counting on you will make you move your behind and get in that run.

3. Be consistent. I think in the long run you will reap the most benefits if you consistently run a couple times a week. The schedule I am following now has me running 3-4 times a week and I think that is a really good amount. It doesn’t have to be very far, but keep it up.

4. Follow a schedule. This kind of ties into setting a goal, but if you sit down and map out for a month how far you will run and how often then you know going into each day what you need to accomplish.

4. Eat right and stay hydrated. This is the one I have to work on the most. If you’re goal is to get in shape then eating the correct food is critical. Also your body needs to be properly nourished if you are expending all those extra calories running. Staying hydrated is key also because running so much leads to lots of sweating and you need to replenish the water in your body.

5. Have music to run with. I have to listen to something when I am running especially if I am alone. I use music to set goals for myself so I don’t count down the minutes or miles. I tell myself I can’t check my watch again until 5 songs have passed on my iPod and when I look back I’ve gotten so much farther. A killer playlist makes running much more fun too!

6. Switch it up. Don’t get stuck with just running or just going to the gym and doing that one class that you really like. Sometimes you have to do the stuff you don’t like too. Keeping your muscles confused is going to help them develop better and help shed those extra pounds you’ve been wanting to lose.

I hope this helps anyone that has questions and by no means am I an expert, just a girl who likes to run and have found things that work for me!

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

