What to do when your heart won’t stop breaking

1. Surround yourself with family and friends

2. Cry until you’re so exhausted you can’t cry any longer

3. Make homemade ice cream sandwiches

4. Watch mindless tv shows like My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding

5. Finish your chemistry webassign and somehow get a 97 on it

6. Remember all the beautiful times you shared with the most amazing dog a little girl could ever get for her 13th birthday

  • teaching him how to take only a bite of my peanut butter and jelly
  • spooning with him
  • letting him up on the couch when mom wasn’t looking
  • take him on runs
  • going to the dog park
  • making him come in the car with me everywhere even though he drooled like crazy
  • always greeting me when I came home with the best kisses
  • getting “jaked”
  • letting him jump on moms bed
  • having a photoshoot with him for my graduation pictures

These were so few of the times I shared with Jake, but it’s all my exhausted brain cares to remember at 6 in the morning. I know Jake knew I loved him more then anything is this world and he knows I would have given anything to have been beside him in the end. I am so grateful my mom woke up and was able to be by his side in my place. I know he is in Heaven eating all the pb&j he wants, laying on everyones beds, ripping apart tennis balls, rolling on top of plastic bones and watching over me down here wishing I would stop crying because he hated when I cried. He was the most spoiled dog in the world and I couldn’t be happier that he was. As much as I want him to keep an eye on me, I’m asking him to keep a special eye on Buster because they loved each other so much and things are going to be very hard for him.

I love you Jakey Delhomme Major with all my heart and I always will.

Jake Delhomme Major

December 4, 2004-August 27, 2011

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. You and Jake were very lucky to have each other. He loved you so much. I am praying for Buster. It will be hard on him. I love you all so much. You will find even as the years pass, there will always be a small part of your heart that just belongs to Jake.

    Reply
  2. Lori Goergen

     /  August 28, 2011

    Syd,
    I was so sorry to hear and am sitting here crying just reading your blog. Only true “dog people” can understand how you feel, and I know how hard this is for you. He will always be a part of your heart, and you can take comfort in knowing what a wonderful life you gave him…and he, you. Hang in there sweetie. Love, Lori Goergen

    Reply
  3. Gail Alger-Wilcox

     /  August 28, 2011

    I am so sorry for your loss. Our furfamily are as dear to us as our human family members and it’s so hard when we have to say goodbye to them. There is a poem I’ve shared with many whom have lost their best furfamily friend and it’s below. I hope it offers a small measure of comfort for you in this difficult time.

    The Rainbow Bridge
    Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.
    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.
    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

    Author unknown…

    Reply
  4. Judy Sieg

     /  August 28, 2011

    Praying for you and your family! Loosing a pet is very hard and I certainly feel your pain. The wonderful memories will always be with you. Java and Bella are sending positive thoughts your way. I am sure that River ( my previous Golden ) has befriended Jake and they are the best of friends!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

