Blindsided

Okay so I have debated whether or not to write this post and then when I started writing it I clearly had way more information to share then just the one post so this will be my first series of sorts.

 

I have briefly mentioned on the blog about something that has impacted my life more then anything I have been through, the divorce of my parents.

 

The “Perfect” Family

 

Meet my family, Dad and Mom, both young and attractive people. Dad was a football player at Air Force Academy and all around genius, Mom was a Fashion Merchandising major and the most stylish person I have ever met. Without us she would have been doing big things in LA or New York, seriously! Then they had me; cheerleader and ybk editor, Shelby; cheerleader ybk editor all around smarty pants and president of everything, Colton; football player, basketball player, cross country runner, amazing artist. To say the least we were an extremely happy bunch. Well minus Shelby she was our exception, she claims she ins’t loved enough or something like that…classic middle child syndrome if you ask me.

 

Enter in June 2, 2009. My parents have just returned home from their 18 year wedding anniversary where they vacationed in Asheville for the weekend. We all got dressed up because I was being inducted into the National Honor Society at the end of my junior year of high school. We all had a wonderful time and then went home. Mom and Dad went to the living room. Colton and Shelby went somewhere, no doubt bickering over who go the remote in the hang out room and I went to the kitchen to make some ramen noodles. Mom, “Hey can you guys come in the living room, we have to have a family meeting?” Sydney, “Am I going to get in trouble because I am having a really good night and I don’t want to turn it into a bad night.” Mom, “No you aren’t in trouble, just come in here.” We all walk in and sit on one end of the couch and notice mom is crying and my panic mode immediately sets in. Dad is clearly going to take the reigns on this one, he isn’t as emotional, I think to myself. (Don’t exactly remember the words that came next but in general it went something along the lines of this.) “Your mom and I need some time apart to figure things out so I’m going to live with Nana and Papa.” No one knows what has just happened, absolute confusion sets in. My parents? That have been happily (or so I thought) married for 18 years just yesterday? My perfect parents that never fight? Surely this happens to other families, but mine? It couldn’t be.

 

I couldn’t talk. There was anger and hurt and so much more I didn’t know how to handle it but I had to get out of the room. I again don’t know what happened to Colton or Shelby, but I ran upstairs to Colton’s room and watched as my dad grabbed a bag that I hadn’t noticed before and walked to his car. I couldn’t stop crying, confusion is the worst of any emotion. My brother hated it just as much, he needed answers, and he needed them right then. I drove him to my Nana and Papa’s house to talk to my dad, but couldn’t bring myself to go in as well. I didn’t want to see him or talk to him. I wanted him to come home and everything to go back to how it had been just an hour before. But it would never be that way again.

I got to school the next day and my best friend knew because my mom had told her mom so that Allie would know what was going on with me. Shelby and I would erupt into tears randomly throughout the day and people began to figure it out. I will never forget getting to AP US History and seeing my friend Justin Avery, who has known me and my family since I was in the 7th grade. He had just ran into my sister and she had told him what happened. He pulled me in and gave me the biggest hug and said, “Your family was the last I would ever expect this to happen to, you guys were so perfect.”

 

Trust me, I thought the same thing….

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I am so glad you are doing this…..

    Reply
  2. Kendy

     /  September 29, 2011

    Syd, you are amazing and I love you:) I know that wasn’t easy to write, I’m glad you’re able to use this as an outlet. -Kendy

    Reply
  3. You know parents don’t always do the right thing and the kids always pay. I hope sharing your story helps you heal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

