The Animal Rescue Site

My Nana and I are one in the same when it comes to our deep love for animals. People who aren’t really into animals can’t seem to understand our actual NEED (not want, NEED) to take care of an animal that is going to give you unconditional love, whenever you need it. Nothing stops me dead in my tracks like an animal does…especially one in need.

My Nana sent me a message on Facebook the other day telling me about an animal rescue group called Marley’s Mutts that is based in California. She told me that The Animal Rescue SiteΒ (click this link to vote for Marley’s Mutts!!)Β is doing a contest and they will give money to whichever shelter gets the most votes! So of course I went and voted!! I checked out the site also and it really is an incredible story!

Marley’s MuttsΒ (click there to check out their site) is a non-profit organization that helps finds homes for otherwise abandoned animals. They have 16 acres out in California where they re-socialize these dogs so they can be taken into good homes. What is cool is the don’t just limit themselves to dogs, they just recently rescued some horses too!!

Of course since I was on the site I decided it would be a good idea to browse what dogs were up for adoption now….bad idea! Of course now I want to adopt this little beauty…

Isn’t she the cutest! Her name is Sasha and she a a Golden/Shepard mix! She also has a brother who is looking for a good home, Kermit.

How could you split the two up!

I also found this little guy, who clearly is in need of a good home because some despicable person treated him poorly…

(All photos and information found at the Marley’s Mutts website)

It absolutely disgusts me to see an animal who has nothing to offer but love be treated so terribly. What I would do to the person who maimed such a sweet animal.

I have been seeing signs everywhere that I need to rescue an animal. When Jake died, it left a hole in my heart. I have so much love to give to sweet animals that need it and I can’t wait to get my first animal. πŸ™‚ A sweet little orange kitten named Golightly (after Holly Golightly from my favorite movie, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”)

Hope everyone goes and votes!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Sydney, thank you for the bottom of my heart. I love you so dearly.
    Nana

    Reply
  2. NanaLinda

     /  February 6, 2012

    Sydney, I want to thank you for supporting Zach in his efforts to save animals! I am a friend of your Nana and I already knew what a wonderful person you are. We Nanas tend to brag on our grandchildren a lot! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • That is so sweet of you, thank you! I’m always willing to support a good cause! I don’t have many readers, but any little bit I can do will help πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Sydney, Thanks so much for your post about Marley’s Mutts and for voting for our rescue.

    I loved that kitten (and the whole movie), too. But I’m glad you won’t name him “Cat.” πŸ™‚

    Thanks again. We certainly appreciate your support.
    Judy
    Marley’s Mutts

    Reply
  4. Liz Weilacher

     /  February 6, 2012

    I see why your Nana speaks so highly of you, you’re a wonderful, thoughtful woman.

    Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my favorite movies too; I love that you’ll be naming your kitty Golightly.

    All the best to you, keep up the good work.

    Reply
  5. Brian Williamson

     /  February 8, 2012

    Nice job, you are doing a very important thing here, getting the word out about these neglected abandoned animals. My girlfriend Anne has been volunteering at a parrot rescue sanctuary for years and has four rescued parrots in her home. Activism doesn’t always mean standing on a corner yelling and screaming, sometimes it is just quietly getting the word out about a problem you feel strongly about…nice job!!!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks Brian!! That’s so cool that she rescues parrots! All animals need someone to care for them πŸ™‚ hope you’re doing well!

      Reply
  6. I have to thank you ladies from the bottom of my heart for passing on the word about our rescue. I love the passion with which you talk about our effort an our wonderful little muttlies. So, I have decided (and am hoping to persuade you) that you should adopt Sonar or Kernit!! Just an idea. Can we please stay in touch? Maybe just post on each others blogs now and then? Want to write more but we are on the 5 freeway traveling back from dropping off 3 terrible burned pups. They are all girls and have 3rd degree burns over most of their bodies. Please check out their story on the website and help spread the word. Thanks again ladies! I wish instill had my awesome granny!

    Reply
    • Oh my gosh I am so thankful for everything you are doing and I would love to stay in touch! I want to help out in any way that I can! You have no idea how bad I want to adopt either one of those precious dogs, but I live in a dorm right now and would have no place to keep them 😦 Don’t worry, I already called my mom and told her I want them both, but I think Sonar needs me as much as I need him. I just read about the burned puppies, I definitely will continue reading about their progress. I also found the video of Sonar getting a bath and my heart melted, that face is the sweetest! I think you are absolutely incredible for doing what you do and I will help spread the word as much as I can. My blog is really little and I don’t think I have many readers, but there is no harm in trying πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

