The importance of knowing your boobs!

Okay fellas, this is just a warning! I’m going to be talking about something that might be slightly uncomfortable for y’all so if you want to quit reading now feel free to! I want to talk about the importance of giving yourself monthly breast exams as it has become extremely prevalent to my life recently.

 Last summer I found a small lump in my left breast. I know my nana and mom have had benign lumps in their breasts before so I wasn’t immediately scared, but I knew I needed to get it checked out. I wasn’t giving my self a breast exam when I found it, I happened to just be rolling over and felt it! My mom and doctor had always told me how important it was, but I figured “hey I’m young I don’t need to worry about that!” WRONG! I saw my doctor and she told me that I needed to have a needle biopsy done so they could know exactly what was going on with it. The needle biopsy ended up telling me that I had a fibroadnoma, which is not cancerous. The doctor said there was no need to get it taken out unless anything changed and to let her know if it did.

 So I went back to school and kept my eye on it. It didn’t really cause me pain unless I was working out or at practice and then I started to notice that it was growing. And not just a little bit, but significantly. I told my mom and she called the doctor. The doctor referred me to a surgeon, but I didn’t want to go until I was done with the cheer season. The doctor told me that was fine and I just had to schedule as soon as I got home from school.

 I met with the surgeon and she gave me an ultrasound. My lump was now more than twice the size that it was when I had first gone in and the doctor couldn’t even fit the whole ting in the monitor screen. That baby had to come out! She still wasn’t concerned that it was cancerous but she was concerned at the rate that it was growing. So we scheduled my surgery for Tuesday of the following week and now I am on the road to recovery.

 I have quite the nasty scar and the lump itself was about 4 inches (HOLY MOLY) This can happen to anyone, and I have been fortunate enough that mine was not cancerous (well they think, I’m still waiting to hear back from pathology.) So ladies, (and any gentleman who stuck around because guys can get breast cancer too) make sure you are regularly giving yourself breast exams and you know your boobs so you can recognize any changes right when they happen!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Sydney, you are a smart girl to start keeping an eye out for your body now, while you’re young! Heal quickly and best wishes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

