My thoughts on Church

I grew up in a family of open-minded, strong people. My mother was raised Catholic and my dad was raised without a specific denomination. My mom was forced to go to church by her parents every Sunday. My dad was allowed to choose. Growing up, my parents taught us to be believers, but that it was our own decision what we wanted to do. We weren’t baptized as babies because they wanted us to grow up and make that decision for our own. We attended church on Christmas and Easter, but we didn’t have roots in a specific church. It was difficult to find one to put down roots in because my dad was in the Air Force, which meant we were being moved every 1 to 2 years.

My parents are also not fans of organized religion. Just because you go to church doesn’t make you a better person. They still have morals and pray and believe in God, they just choose to do it in a different way. I am very thankful my parents let me choose the way I live my life. I’ve been all over the place when it comes to my relationship with God, from not really having an opinion, to questioning his existence, to where I am today.

A Christian. A believer. A lover of Jesus. A follower.

It has taken me close to 20 years to reach this point. It took a lot of thinking, praying, reading the bible, asking questions, trying to understand. Would I be more knowledgeable had I been going to church my whole life? Probably. Would my relationship with Christ be the same as it is today? Probably not. See what if I was forced to go every day and then thought of church as a chore instead of a decision I look forward to each week? Church shouldn’t be a chore, a thing you do each weekend, but are thinking the whole time, “I have to get my homework done after and the laundry started, but at least I can check church off the list.”

Church is a place where you can build community, where you can facilitate your relationship with Christ, where you can meet others who are attempting to live a life that is filled with Jesus. I’m not saying you have to go to church to get all those things, goodness knows I don’t go to church every weekend, life gets in the way. But the beautiful thing about it is I’m still…

A Christian. A believer. A lover of Jesus. A follower.

I choose today and everyday to accept Jesus as my Savior and to try and live a life I think he would want me to live. And I know I have the loving support of my family, friends and Jesus to carry me through.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Momma

     /  August 26, 2012

    I’m so proud of you, this post was beautiful! You are such an amazing person and wonderful daughter. I’m so glad you have found your way.

    Reply
  2. Tammy Littlejohn

     /  August 27, 2012

    Syd, thanks for sharing this. I am reading a book called “Messy Spirituality” that sounds like what you just wrote! I’ll send you a copy if you want to read it or check it out on Amazon. A “non minister” minister told me about it.

    Reply
  3. Ann Rust

     /  August 27, 2012

    Very well written! A beautiful message!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

