I realized…

I realized today when I was looking back through some previous posts that I said I would do a recap of the beach and then never did! Today wasn’t an exciting day and we have had such crummy weather in Raleigh recently that daydreaming about the beach is much more pleasant!

So here are some of my favorite pictures from the Nags Head trip with our “kinda cousins” the Taylor’s.

the whole clan

Every year we are forced to pick a color scheme, doll ourselves up as much as possible and pose for family pictures. Usually this process can be quite excrutiating , I mean as you can imagine there are 6 “kids” of varying ages that you are trying to get to stand still, get off their phones, and pay attention long enough to get a couple decent shots.

*my phone is actually just hidden in my pocket hehe I’m sneaky*

Luckily this year, by the time we were all ready and stepped outside to start the process it was so hot and humid it was decided that pictures would be quick and easy if everyone cooperated the first time. Easier said then done, but the results are still excellent and I cherish all of our pictures from the beach.

the girls

handsome boys

chuchi and pooter

beautiful best friends

ladies

The Taylor’s

The Major’s

 

So that is what we looked like while taking pictures, this is what we look like the majority of the time we are at the beach…

hot mess

As I previously mentioned we celebrated my mom’s 26th birthday  43rd birthday while down at the beach and Lynne and I attempted the rainbow cake seen on Pinterest as per her request. Surprisingly, the cake turned out amazing! But we joked that since my mom got what she requested this year, the requests were only going to become more demanding each year aka her cakes will eventaully be rainbow with sprinkles and unicorns and fireworks that shoot out singing happy birthday spicy princess…HAHA

The cake was really simple to make, first Lynne and I mixed the batter and then poured it into separate bowls. We then added food coloring to each of the bowls until it was the color we wanted it to be. Then we layered each of the colors into our pan and TA DA, the cake was ready to be baked!

starting to layer

pretty colors

final creation and the birthday princess with her bestie

All in all it was a fantastic trip as it always is. Every year, with us getting older and older, it gets so much more difficult to get everyone in one place at the same time. Fortunately this trip means something special to each and every one of us so I think we put in the extra mile to make sure we are there and I hope that continues.

This will always be a place near and dear to my heart.

  • Catch up

    August 2012
    S M T W T F S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other subscribers
  • Twitter Updates